Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

8:25 p.m.-2003-09-12

I have to say...the first and last time I saw the video to 'Hurt'...I cried. Now don't go and get me wrong. I cried the first time I heard 'Hurt' too...but it was being sung live by Trent Reznor and I'm none too sure what I'd drunk that night...long story. I don't remember. I don't WANT to remember... but I digress.

TR's Hurt is the song of youth gone bad. Youth gone to seed. Youth squandered in hate and masochistic attention getting. Youth a lot like I was. Mad at the world, enraptured with the self. Youth that retreats to the senses and sensuality and the gutteral. Youth that sees its future destroyed by the very people who should be protecting it so there will be something LEFT, with that youth is grown to maturity. It is a sad, sad song, putting TR's immense ego aside. It's a sad, sad contemplation.

But the song sung by the Man In Black was worse somehow. A man, long past maturity. A man, alone...facing the world alone. Facing death alone...I've seen too many of our elders sit and stare at blank walls after their spouse of 50 years died. Stare, and slowly fade away. Forgotten by family, left behind by friends dead years before. I've seen that pain, too...and I fear it far more than the pains I feared as I grew up.

I grew upon Johnny Cash. I grew up in a dirt-poor town in the rurals. I knew what it was like, to have no money, to have the utilities turned off on a monthly basis. I knew what it was like to go to school wearing clothes you wore 2 years before, and shoes passed down from a bigger cousin. And I knew Johnny Cash. I knew his songs by heart...long after I gave up on country music because of the 'New Country' phenomenon, when my rock'n'roll altar was festooned with the likes of Metallica, Guns-n-Roses, and Faith No More. Even after I'd found new idols in Jane's Addiction, and Nine Inch Nails, and Depche Mode (and thus proved I had absolutely NO musical taste...I know) I always kept a tiny shrine to the Man in my heart...

I swear, I feel like I lost a grandfather. Guess they needed another voice in the celestial choir. Good-bye, Mr Cash.

Before <--o--> After

Hurt, Johnny Cash
beef jerky
Diva, get off my foot!

The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.