Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

9:38 p.m.-2003-11-10

Well, the good news is, it's not a heart attack.

Back in July, I had an episode, if you wanna call it that. We were at the mall, walking around, and suddenly my chest ached, I got light headed, and my hands went cold and numb, and I couldn't breathe. Now, I'm an asthmatic, so really, I just brushed it off.

But since July, it's been happening. Maybe once every 3 weeks. And then once a week. And then twice a week. On Thursday night, my chest hurt so bad, and no amount of my asthma medicine was working, but the pain came and went. To be honest, I didn't tell the other half. I didn't want to worry him, really. Big mistake, I guess, but I did it anyway.

Well. Truth be told, by lunch today my chest hurt so bad, with these shooting pains up into my throat and down my arms, I was SCARED. So I called up to my doctor's office, and got an appointment. When they asked why, I said 'chest pains', and they said, "We have an appointment at 4."

"I can't come in at four. How bout tomorrow?"

"Your doctor's only in till noon on Tuesday."

"Okay, I'll come in Wednesday."

"With chestpains? Hon, are you sure?"

Well, I wasn't sure. By 2:30, it hurt so bad, I was afraid. Really afraid. So I called back, and went up to be checked out at 4. After much poking, proding, interviewing, and an EKG, I had a diagnosis.

Well, the good news is, it's not heart attacks. The bad news is, I've got inflammation all through my rib cage. On the inside. It may just be a side effect of my asthma, which my doctor is taking as personal affront. So now I have to go in next Wednesday, and try some new medicines. Till then, I'm on some strong antiinflamitories, and some GERD medicine, because the chest pain seems to be a combination of GERD, asthma, arthritis from an old back injury, and this inflammation of my chest walls.

Bleargh. And I got chewed out by my doctor, her medical assistant, her nurse, her secretary (a family friend), and the receptionist. Because really, if you're having chest pain, don't wait from mid July to early November to see your doctor, 'kay?

Wheezingly yours,

The Captain


Post Script: I just LURVE Googlers. Get this one. This keeps up, and I'll be Googlicious!

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.