Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

9:28 p.m.-2003-11-12

Today, I did about the fourth most embarrassing thing I think I've ever done, involving a phone anyway.

The first was calling the police the night I thought the other half (who was then, only the best long distance friend) was going to try to commit suicide due to some choicely worded lies by a former friend. So I called the cops. In Seattle. And told them what I thought his address was, and his phone number. Turns out, he WASN'T, he was just bloody depressed. But I wuved him, even then. More than anything. Only then, it was just 'best friend' love. Not 'you have a freak of a wife, and she's going to try to stab you to death' love. Well. It wasn't then, anyway. It turned into that. And it's a long story.

But I digress. I've been trying to get ahold of my mom for several days. She's not answering her phone, nor is her answering machine on. I can't get her at work, every time I dial the number, it sounds like a modem and hangs up. She's not answering her email. So finally, this morning, at gawd-awful early o'clock, I got up, had my shower, grabbed the phone book where her work phone was, and jotted it down sans my glasses.

I walked back out to the phone in the living room, with said jotted number, and promptly dialed. A polite woman's voice said, "Hello?"

Now, I was taken aback, because it should have been "Bartle's & Jaymes Funeral Home, how can I help you?" But I figured, I guess, in my sleepiness, that either I'd gotten the back line by accident, or it was a new girl, and she forgot to use the proper greeting, but really...she sounded bloody familiar.

In a sleep-induced stupor, I asked intelligently, "This isn't the funeral home, is it?"

"No, I'm sorry, it's not," replied the irritatingly familiar voice.

"Oh," I responded, somewhat brilliantly, and then apologized, "I'm sorry. Wrong number." And I hung up. I stared at the number s'more, then shrugged because it was time to get dressed, and decided I'd email mom from work instead.

About lunch, I got a call from a family friend. She sounded very nervous. "Hey, Captain," she chirped in a not quite everything's alright voice.

"Hey," I chirped back, wondering if said friend (who works upstairs with the doctor I mentioned yesterday) had bad medical news for me or something. Said friend is also battling lymphoma, and is one of the bravest folks I know. She and her hubby rock my socks. But I digress.

"There's...nothing wrong with the cabin boy, is there?" she asked, rather nervously.

It finally struck me...WHO it was I called at gawd awful early o'clock this morning. You see, her number and my mom's work number are very similar...and I'd neglected to actually oh...USE my brain /or/ my area code to try and call. I'd dialed HER number instead.

"I...uh...wasn't trying to prank you. You know that, don't you?"

"I guessed, but I was worried. I only know one guy in Seattle with a cute little accent like yours. I figured it was you, or someone from your same home town just called me by accident."

Needless to say, I spent the rest of the day mortified. Bah.

Think I'll die now,

The Captain

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.