Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

12:50 a.m.-2004-07-19

A few random thoughts on poly-spousal households.

I don't really have a problem with polygamy. So long as polyandry is also allowed. Hell, I don't mind if you all live in one great big ole commune of free love, so long as you /genuinely/ can get along and so the potential children don't have to have lifelong therapy after the fact.

But some things I notice about so-called Christian polygamy. First off...the women almost always seem to be terminally codependant. I mean like. Freakishly so. And passive-aggressive. Meek to the point you're surprised more of them don't poison their families. Mind you, this is only from observation of polygamous families interviewed in more or less conventional documentaries, and not that daytime talkshow crap. And from a few personal observations of the one polygamous non Mormon christian family I knew in Dallas. We won't go into what I've learned about Mormons. Most of them are nice, sane, more or less rational folks, and darned practical. Most of them.

The other thing I notice is that the women are almost always heavily overweight, sit around at home, and refuse to work. They'd rather be on welfare than work outside the home. Heck, most of em don't seem to even BE living in the same residence...

Now. Don't get me wrong. But how is this blessed state of holy polygamy different from some guy who just happens to FATHER 8 or 10 kids on 6 different women, but never marries their mothers, who then sit at home, get fat, and get on welfare? You don't see that with oh...Islamic polygamous families, of which I know several.

In the ones I do know, usually one wife stays home and plays Suzy Homemaker, and the other one or two go out and work jobs. Good jobs. Look and act practically westernized. But I understand from some of my muslim coworkers that a lot of 'westernized' Islamic men do the whole 'one wife who thinks she's the only one', who he's legally married to, and then keep one, two, or three on the side, as extras. Now that's just scummy, I don't care WHAT religon you are.

Now...pagan polygamous families...you don't see the women do that either, for the most part. If anything, they're out working twice as hard, and come home and give their lazy, laid back husbands a good quick kick in the ass, and shout to the heavens, "You best go get a [better] job, and treat me like the Goddess I Am! Because I'm not putting up with this shit anymore!"

Not that pagan polygamous families are all like that, but most seem to be. From direct observation. Heck, I know one gal, she's got two decent, hard working, clean cut, don't drink, don't smoke husbands...and a cute kid she keeps on the side, because he hasn't grown up enoug yet to marry him. Lucky lady, cuz they're all hunks.

Makes you wonder, eh? Makes me. Oh hell, don't get me wrong. I think that polygamy or serial monogamy is probably THE natural state of the human animal. Look at our closest relatives! But you know. Then we start throwing that passive-aggressive crap into it, and it all goes to hell in a handbasket, and the kids need therapy, or try to kill one another in coups or something.

Ugh. Really can't stand the codependant bit. Makes me wanna gag.

Heh. And ya'll probably thought I was worried about the whole gay marriage thing, which I'm not. Feh. Just give us Gen X'ers the time to grow up into the old people who run the place, and you'll see some changes, while everyone sits around and wonders what the big fat hairy gorilla ass the problem was with the folks born in the 50s anyway.

Yeah. Something like that.

Wonder if the Cabin-boy would like company.

Maybe I should stop that line of thought right now.

The Captain

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.