Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

3:43 a.m.-2004-08-23

Yup, up at 3 am again, unable to sleep. I don't know what's fucked with my body clock, but there it is. I can't sleep.

Worse, I have this sinus headache that's trying to come on, despite a massive dose of antihistamines that should be enough to make ANYONE sleep.

I'd have a drink or something, but I have to work, and tomorrow is going to be stressful enough.

I was supposed to print out the statements on Thursday, because I usually take part of Friday off. No, said the boss. You stay all day Friday, and print them on Friday. Fine, I said, and went home, not suspecting that there would be Trouble.

Friday came and went, and after we closed, I got everything together and ready to print. Went through the usual rituals, and noticed that when I tried to do the finance charges, they weren't working properly. Well, honestly, the finance charges are sort of a formality around our place (it's a small one shot independant), and we've forgotten to do them before, so I knew the boss wouldn't mind, called into the software vendor to let them know something was fucked up, and went on my merry way.

Until I got to the point I needed to print the statements themselves. Nada. Nothing. Whatever was screwed up with printing the finance charges was /also/ screwed up, so the computer wasn't recognizing the charges for printing at all. GREAT. Thank god my floor pharmacist showed back up a few minutes later, having forgotten something, so he could vouch for the boss that I was 'doing everything right'. A few months ago, I screwed up and put in the wrong date on a billing, and the boss acted like it was the end of the world, and sent the same pharmacist to look over my shoulder for 4 months to 'be sure nothing was messed up again'. Nevermind, I'm the one who figured out how to do the billing in the new system in the first place, and the floor pharmacist was clueless. But at least he was there to say 'yeah, he was doing everything right, and it was the computer messed up'

But. Suffice to say, if the boss had let me do the statements on Thursday like I wanted, instead of Friday, I'd've known Thursday there was a problem, instead of on Friday, when I couldn't get ahold of the software provider, and have to wait till Monday. They so owe me comptime.

The Captain

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.