Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

4:24 p.m.-2004-09-01

Family of decapitated rider pleads for driver


MARIETTA, Georgia (AP) -- The family of a man decapitated in a freak traffic accident is asking authorities to free the driver, who authorities say continued on home and left his close friend's headless body in the vehicle.

Francis "Frankie" Brohm, 23, was killed Saturday night on the way home from a bar with his high school friend, John Hutcherson.

Police say Brohm was drunk and hanging out the passenger side window when Hutcherson veered off the road. Brohm hit the guide wire running from a telephone pole, severing his head. Hutcherson, apparently unaware of what had happened, kept driving home and went to bed, leaving the body in the car.

The body was discovered the next day; Brohm's head was found on the side of the road.

Hutcherson was charged with vehicular homicide, driving under the influence and failing to stop at the scene of a fatal accident and was being held on $100,000 bond.

"They don't want to see him in jail," said Brohm family attorney David Lipscomb. "Their position is he needs to be out to receive whatever treatment is necessary, put his life back together."

The families of both men are very close, lawyers said.

"It's just a horrific accident, and we are all just in mourning right now," said Margaret Hutcherson, the driver's mother. She said the victim was "a part of our family, just like Johnny was a part of their family. I feel like I've lost a son."


Much as I laughed at the headline over this story when it came out a few days ago, I must applaud this family whole heartedly. Not every accident is a crime. Not every accident is a chance for a family to make huge amounts of money. And sometimes, horrible accidents are their own reward (and punishment), of course. This poor kid (I didn't realize he was only 21) is going to have to live with the horror of what he did for the rest of his life.


In other news, I had the most freakish thing happen. I filled two prescriptions in a row, for two different new customers, who BOTH had today for their birthday. Dang. And I was thinking of playing the slots this weekend or something.


I have NOT been on as much as I would like of late, seeing as how Symantec's Norton Internet Security turned from a guarddog to Cujo, and froze up my ability to even get online, or reboot my computer, or even remove its hideous carcass from my computer.

And having to pay $24.95 to call a guy in India who insisted that what I was describing was not possible (and didn't fix my problem), that was just icing on the cake.

Anyhoo, I gotta scuttle off. Hope I can get online tonight; I'm jonsing terribly, and it's been too busy at work to do anything online anyway.

On the upside, being isolated off the internet has kept me from ranting about the GOP convention, so...I guess it was a good thing.

The Captain

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.