Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

7:07 p.m.-2004-09-18

My grandfather died this morning.

My dad's father.

It's hard to know what exactly it is I feel.

He's had Alzheimer's for years. He didn't really remember anything past about 1974. I was born in 1975.

That was hard. I was his favorite, when I was younger. I was born the day he retired. He stopped remembering I was even born, in about 1997, when I moved to Seattle.

I had always hoped, I'd be able to brag that I had all four grandparents when I was 30. I'm just 4 months shy of that hallmark, but I didn't make it. That almost makes me sadder.

I'll be thinking of him most, Novermber 1st, the Day of the Dead. And maybe the Solstice. And on my birthday, just 3 days after his.

He was 89 years old. He leaves behind his wife of 60+ years, and ten children, and more grandchildren and great grandchildren than I can count any more.

He passed quietly, in his sleep, with several of his daughters nearby.

I don't know that it could get much better than that.

The Captain

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.