Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

8:51 p.m.-2003-09-24

I woke up this morning at god awful o'clock, with a searing pain in my side. I panicked a moment, until I realized it was just because the Elder Cat was laying curled up beside me and hadn't allowed me to move for who knows how long...I was sort of bent into the Quasimodo posture for hours as far as I can tell, thanks to La Gata Gordita. But waking up to the agony also made me realize that my euphamistically 'upset stomach' was not feeling any better...and so I went back to sit on the throne o' conemplating, praying to various gods that I would feel better BEFORE I had to get to work. It almost worked.

I have to be on the bus at 8:21am. At 7:30, I felt good enough to get dressed for work. At 7:45, I managed some breakfast. At 7:50, it was back to the throne room. At 8:10, it was time to catch the kitties to put them back in their 'house' before I left for work. At 8:19, I realized there was no way in hell I was gonna sprint half a block to get to the bus on time. At 8:24, I finally caught Diva, having put her sister in the kennel a few minutes before. At 8:35, it was back into the throne room. At 8:43, the bus ran again. *sigh* I called my place of employment and left a message on the machine that I was gonna be late. Really late.

I managed to finally GET on the bus at 9:45. It was 10:30 before I got to work, an hour and a half late. The boss looked at me in surprise, and asked me what the hell I was doing at work. I stared back. "Oh, you're NOT on vacation until tomorrow." Right boss. I should've just turned around then, and went home.

As if this sorry excuse for a morning hadn't already happened...the Invasion of the Soccer Moms arrived. I hate Soccer Moms. I hate their GAP clothes and their Bon-Macys perfume. I hate their Fred Meyer makeup and their Nine West sandals. I hate their phony smiles. I hate their cellphones. I hate their SUVs. MAN I hate their SUVs. Most of all, I hate that they show up, and DEMAND their medicine...as if there were 10 people ahead of them, and they throw fits and threaten to call their lawyer husbands if you don't comply with them. Ugh. Soccer moms. Showing up in droves, with the ones not quite old enough for school screaming and yapping at their feet, wanting their Lexapro and the antibiotics for little Jimmy's earache.

The highlight of the day was quitting time. The other half was there, with the chariot to pick me up, and we went out to eat. Not fancy, mind you, but it's a good buffet and we like it. There was a young mother their, with her 2ish daughter, and said daughter spent most of dinner peeking into our booth, chattering away and waving 'Hi' and pretending to talk on her cellular hot-dog. And we waved back, and we made faces, and we chattered at her between going back to commit the sin of gluttony in various stages.

And then, just as we were starting to finish up, she started babbling in sentences, while mom and dad were getting ready to go. "He brought his doggie," she announced clearly. "That's nice honey, but we left our doggie at home tonight." "No, he brought HIS doggie." Mom was too busy talking with Dad to answer her. She leaned over the other half's shoulder, and asked, "Is it good?" while he carved up the last bit of roast beef. "Are you going to eat that?" "Yes, it's very good," the other half indulged her. She looked under the table and pointed, "Can he have some?"

We nearly died...very nearly died. She was looking where the other half's deceased service dog should have been. Funny, there's no grief there now...but we miss him...we miss sneaking home bits out of the buffet, just to tell him he was a good boy...he never ate on duty. But I wonder now...how would a child that young, have such a vivid imagination, as to think two strangers would come into a restaurant with a dog?

Sometimes, the world is weird.

Missing his big buddy tonight,

The Captain

Before <--o--> After

the skanky neighbor's boyfriend drive up sounding like a whole damn mariachi band with his thumping music
are you kidding? I just ate half a buffet!
I wonder if dog angels get to go to buffets in heaven?

The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.