Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

8:39 a.m.-2003-09-28

101 Things You Didn't Want to Know About the Captain

1. I am an Aquarius, with a Gemini ascendant and a Libra moon. Some people think I'm two-faced and indecisive when it comes to things I care about.

2. I knew I was gay when I was 4.

3. I'm nervous around mirrors.

4. I'm a cat person.

5. I'm also a mule person. Mules are the most honest creatures on the planet.

6. I grew up in 'the rurals'.

7. I love horseracing and have a good handicapping record. Too bad I don't gamble.

8. I spent a lot of time with my mom's mom, Nanny.

9. I have a younger brother and a younger sister.

10. I look younger than I am.

11. I love nuts.

12. I love pecans and almonds, too.

13. Halloween has always been my favorite holiday. Then Thanksgiving. Then Christmas.

14. I love Mexican, Italian, Thai, Korean, Chinese, Indian, Ethiopian, and Japanese food.

15. I'm partial to most ethnic food, actually. I'm a non-denomimational eater.

16. My left hand has a neural twitch. Sometimes it spasms and I drop things.

17. I practice astrology and tarot readings. I say practice, because I'm still not as good as I'd like to be.

18. I'm extremely clumsy. I can't tell you where I got that last bruise.

19. I was with my first serious partner for 4 years. He was an Aries.

20. He left me for someone from Australia while I was on vacation away from home.

21. I've been with my current other half for 5 years. He's a Pisces.

22. We fight over money, and what movies I don't want to see.

23. We're still happily in love, thanks.

24. Sometimes, I'm evasive.

25. My other half grew up on a farm in California.

27. I was born and raised in Texas.

28. I moved away before I even knew George W. Bush existed.

29. I'm sorry too.

30. My brother is a Leo, has a tongue stud, and is in the Air Force. We call him 'Bubba'.

31. My sister is a Gemini, just got a divorce, and has a 3 year old son. She was my mom's favorite.

32. I love my nephew; it's like watching a little me. He's a Leo, too. And red headed.

33. I've never met my nephew, but I want to once he's a bit older.

34. I send him birthday and holiday gifts, and correspond regularly with my mom about him.

35. I love fantasy novels, but most of what's out there today is unrepentantly repetive, and girly.

36. I took drawing lessons when I was a kid, but never went anywhere.

37. I still have a frustrated illustrator inside.

38. My other half is part French, part Argentian, and part Apache.

39. He has dark brown hair, and a red beard. No, really. It just grew in that way.

40. I suffer from the curse of my ancestors. Lots of head hair, little facial hair, lots of belly and leg hair.

41. I love horror movies. Really bad cheesy ones.

42. I hate movies with real emotional content. I refuse to watch 'Fried Green Tomatoes'.

43. I regard going to the theater to see anything other than sci-fi, horror, or fantasy with the same dread that most guys reserve for the ballet.

44. I'm terrified of boats and water deeper than my ankles.

45. My dad read Beowulf, the Illiad, and the Oddesey to me in my cradle. No wonder I'm a weirdo.

46. I read The Hobbit by the time I was 5. I read the Lord of the Rings by the time I was 8.

47. My favorite book of the Bible is Tobit.

48. I was raised Catholic in a purely Bible-Belt southern town.

49. I'm getting over it nicely, thank you.

50. I work in a small family owned pharmacy.

51. I know how to make every drug delivery form known to man, except injectables.

52. I work with 2 Muslims, 1 Jew, 2 Protestants, 3 Catholics, 1 agnostic, 1 Pakistani, 1 Chinese, 1 East Indian, 1 Croatian, 1 Swiss, 1 Appalachian hill billy, 2 'All Americans' who don't know their ethnic background, 4 women and 4 men. Me, I'm half Irish, half 'Texan'.

53. September 11 was awkward for everyone in our pharmacy.

54. My first babysitter was a Siamese cat.

55. I became obsessed with pirates after reading 'The Ship's Cat' as a young kid.

56. I was a goth as a teen.

57. I don't really care for folks who cheat on their other halves.

58. I'm of ambivilent emotions about polygamy (or polyandry for that matter).

59. I like big dogs, but I'm afraid of dogs under 10 pounds.

60. I'm opinionated.

61. I mutter 'beautiful, beautiful' under my breath every time I do something stupid.

62. If forced to choose between my cat and my sister, I would've kept my cat.

63. I'm happier now than I have ever been. It's strange.

64. I probably would've been valedictorian.

65. My parents took me out of public high school and sent me to boarding school instead.

66. They can't figure out why I never 'came home' after that.

67. My mother works in a funeral home, my father is a welder. They're a Virgo and a Pisces respectively.

68. I learned to cook at a young age, because my mom didn't cook very well.

69. I still hate 'macaroni and tomatoes' (yes, this is a white trash dish).

70. Raisins are the other food I can't stand.

71. I'm slowly going deaf.

72. I wear glasses too. Thick ones.

73. I'd like to play 'goth' again, but I need to lose 20 pounds.

74. I do believe in ghosts. John Edwards isn't the only person who talks to dead people.

75. Fortunately, I rarely see ghosts. Getting spooky vibes, that's another matter.

76. My IQ is extraordinarily high (180+). No, it's a curse.

77. I have a parrot and three cats.

78. My other half is an artist. A sculptor and potter.

79. I can get very cranky and cantanerkous.

80. As of today, I still have all four grandparents and one great grandmother.

81. My Nanny also senses dead people. She's fun in old houses.

82. My Nanny is still working. She's a tax appraiser. She often has to go into old houses. Just don't get between her and the doorway out.

83. I used to work in the retirement home industry. I love old people. I hate the way people treat them.

84. Having become familiar with politics, sex, disease, and death, not much shocks me anymore.

85. I've got dark brown hair and bright green eyes and a propensity for severe sunburn.

86. I'm longwinded anyway.

87. I only speak English, but I read well enough in French, German, Italian, Latin, and Spanish to get around if I need to. And a little American Sign Language.

88. I studied Russian, Greek, and Irish in school. I can't remember any of them now.

89. I can read Tolkien elvish runes. I used to take my notes in them in class. It drove my teachers nuts.

90. I was in theater arts in high school and college. I miss it.

91. I collect black and purple toy dragons. These are not easy to find.

92. My favorite Disney movie is Sleeping Beauty. Beauty and the Beast is a close second.

93. My favorite fairy tale is 'Snow White and Rose Red'.

94. I flipflop between being the world's worst optimist, and an even worse pessimist.

95. I'm often not very practical.

96. My emotions get the better of me frequently.

97. Sometimes, I just can't keep my big mouth shut.

98. I think there should be a parenting test and licensing proceedure.

99. I'm working on a fantasy novel. It will probably never be published.

100. I wanted to be a mortician or a vet when I was a kid.

101. I'll talk about myself all day if you give me the chance.

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.