Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

6:53 p.m.-2003-10-02

You ever wake up with one of THOSE dreams? I just did. Man. I still feel fucked in the head.

Started off simple enough. I was back at my parent's rambler, at night, looking through the powerlines up into the northern sky, trying to see the stars past the tall pine trees.

I'd been out there several minutes in peace and quiet. My sister was still 9. My brother was still 12. I was still 16. Mom and Dad weren't home. It was just us kids, while they had a dinner out or something.

That's when I noticed something odd in the sky. A spot...larger than a star, but still not very large. It was blacker than the sky. Like a hole in the sky, if you will...and that's what my first impression was.

The wind kept blowing, and the trees kept brushing in front of it, but the thing kept getting higher and higher in the sky from the north, which I knew was impossible. I was big into astronomy as a kid, so I knew that things didn't rise from the north anyway. I kept trying to watch, and my brother kept coming out to bug me. He was always a little shit anyway, pestering me when he knew it mattered to me.

Finally, I got a good look at the hole. It was like trying to see something you could only see out of the corner of your eye, or one of those stupid 'stare at it long enough and it's a 3-D picture' thingies. And then, my brother turned on the light in the kitchen behind me. Night vision ruined.

I stalked back into the house, and turned it off, after telling him it was messing with my stargazing. I finally stood out there long enough to see the hole again, and that's when I noticed the tiny sparks that seemed to come out of it. They'd erupt from the sides, and drift off at a rapid pace into the night sky...but you could tell that the scale of these things was HUGE...so far away, and yet closer and closer the longer you looked.

Then my brother turned on the light in the hallway. Night vision ruined. I went in to turn off the hallway light beaming through the front door of the house, which was still open, and told him to knock it off, I could SEE something, and he was messing with it.

So I went back out, and this time, he followed me, to see what I was talking about. Finally, I found a way to explain it to him, because perpendicular the imaginary line the dark spot was following, I suddenly noticed that faint letters had appeared. The spot was on some sort of cosmic equator, not quite half way between a really fancy J and a really fancy K in the sky above. He could see it, and the little sparks flying out of it from time to time.

He went back inside and turned the light on in HIS room, and I got pissed; when he came out, I yelled at him for ruining my night vision AGAIN, and he handed me his precious, never to be touched by another hunting and birdwatching and football/baseball game watching binoculars that he'd gotten for Christmas a few years before. No one ever got to touch THOSE binoculars. Ever. I was touched.

I was starting to feel frantic, really, because I couldn't get the LOOK at the spot I wanted to, so the binoculars would help...and he obligingly turned off the light in his room, and came out to sit with me, when the wind blew the front door shut again.

Now we had a STUPID front door. It was made this way. If it shut, it couldn't be opened from the outside. It could only be opened from the inside. And the door slamming woke my sister up, and she turned HER light on, preventing me from getting a look at the spot anyway till my night vision returned.

So we scrambled to get back into the house by the garage door, praying mom and dad hadn't locked it on their way out to dinner. They hadn't, and by now my brother was panicked about the spot, so by the time I got my sister back to sleep, and my brother calmed down, and it was time to go back out and look at the spot with the binoculars...I got woken up by an inconsiderate neighbor and their slamming car doors. Now I'll never know what the dark black spot in the sky was...but I did immediately get up to see if earth had finally been visited by aliens or something.

I wonder what it all means.

Dreamily yours,

The Captain

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.