Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

9:41 p.m.-2004-01-19

Right now, I'm about 10 minutes from sending this parrot of mine to sleep in Davy Jones' locker.

He has not shut up since I came in the house. He has chirped. He has squawked. He has helloed. He has screamed. Right now, he sounds a bit like a demented goose having an acid trip.

I so wish I knew a pet psychic. I want to know if anything is going on in that creature's skull, or if he's just doing that to piss me off.

And if that wasn't bad enough, I had a shit-head day. As in I was the shit-head.

I should not have been allowed to deal with the public today.

Witness this conversation:

Caller: Hello, I'd like to refill a prescription.

Me: Certainly. Patient's last name?

Caller: Doe.

Me: Doe, right. And the Pet's name?

Caller: *sounding confused* Come again?

Me: *embarrrassed* Sorry, sorry, it's been a long day. Your name?

Caller: Oh, no, it's not for me. It's Suzie. It's for my partner, Dr. Jill Doe.

Me: Oh. Dear. Right. *awkward pause* I suppose she really is sort of a pet.

Caller: *awkward pause, then nervous laugh* I suppose you're right.

Me: *all businesslike* Right. I'll have that ready in about 10 minutes.

You have to understand...Dr. Jill Doe (whose name was changed to protect her privacy) is MY physician...and Suzie is her lesbian partner...and while JILL would have laughed her ass off at the joke...Suzie doesn't know me from Adam. *sigh* And Suzie? She's a high priced lawyer. I bet I get sued for sexual harrassment or something.

As if that weren't bad enough, later, while we were busy, a family came in, with elderly Mom in a borrowed from the hospital wheelchair. With her, was a middle aged woman and a slightly older woman (but not so old as mom). Confusion reigned, because Mom needed some prescriptions filled that had just been called in by the doctor about 2 minutes before, and she was upset we weren't done with them yet. To make matters worse, one of the prescriptions had a big note that said 'See Me'...in the handwriting of the pharmacist who was currently on lunch, and thus, not THERE. We didn't have a CLUE why there was this note.

In the middle of her being upset that we were denying her her medication, Mom #2 comes in, in a wheelchair borrowed from the hospital. With her is a middle aged lady, and a slightly older lady. I'm handed a prescription with a name that's familiar on it, and told to fill the script. About ten seconds later, I notice to my annoyance that it's an insurance plan we don't take. I'm not annoyed at Mom #2...I'm annoyed at the yahoos who work out front who have been told repeatedly that we don't take this insurance plan, and to let customers know that when they hand in their cards.

So.

I trot out front, to give Mom #2 the bad news. I turn to her in her wheelchair to start to explain...and she gives me a blank look. That's when I recall that she has bad hearing and bad memory. So I turn to the middle aged woman with her, and start to tell her...only to be pointed at the OTHER woman...who is in fact Mom #2, and not the first Mom.

I must've turned eight shades of red...so I trot over to speak to the older woman, whom I recall as being Mom #2's daughter...and she gives me a blank look...while the younger lady gets my attention with a sharp cough.

You see, the younger lady was Mom #2's youngest daughter...and the lady I'd been telling the sob story to? She wasn't related at all...as the elder daughter of Mom #2 had borrowed our bathroom.

*sigh* I'll probably get sued for privacy violations or something over that too.

That was just PART of my day today...I should not have been allowed anywhere near the public. It got so bad the bossman pulled me aside to work on a special project, just so I'd stop humiliating myself.

So I spent the rest of the day typing up about 20 hand written pages in the world's third worst handwriting...oh well...at least he was happy with the result.

Wow...this is the longest post I've made in a while...hope you're all happy, if you stuck this long. And for those pharmacy techs and former techs...I'm sorry about the PTSD I just inflicted ;)

The Captain

PS Oh look...as if to underscore just how bad today was, the Googlers were after me for wet willies and wedgies...I feel like a Simpsons Episode.

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.