Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

12:41 p.m.-2004-06-15

You know, I don't think I've actually bothered to mention this to anyone around here. The Cabin-Boy knows...but then, I know where he keeps his secret stash of bunny crack, too.

I've decided to go back to school. Not just any school. Mortuary school.

Yeah.

Oh, I did mention it? Well, foo. That'll teach me to go and not post regularly enough I don't remember what I blathered about last time.

Yeah. Mortuary school. I did mention my mom works in a funeral home, didn't I? Sure I did. But you know. It's all the family and all.

Why? Well. First off, then my customers wouldn't back talk me. No insurance companies to deal with and tell me I can't give them what they need.

Sure, the families can be annoying, but the families of patients are equally annoying, I can promise you.

But mostly, it's because I need a calling. Being a pharmacy tech's nice, but it's not a calling.

A doctor is a calling. A nurse is a calling. A teacher is a calling. A pharmacist is a calling. A priest is a calling. Dammit. I want a calling too.

And now I found mine. Because I want to BE something. Sure, a pharmacy tech's nice and all...but it's just not a calling. And besides, the dead don't bother me any. They're long past their sufferings and upsets. I can't imaging being a surgeon or something. That's all about being around dying. Dying is a lot harder than death. Funerals are all about the living.

And hey, in a way, I've been in training for it all my life. I've studied to be a psychologist. A veternarian. A pharmacy technician. I've worked in vet offices, in retirement homes, in pharmacies. I've been a tutor, a counselor, and I'm actually an ordained minister (hey, don't look at me like that). But they all combine nicely to one thing I am good at. Holding hands when someone's grieved. And hey, I talk to the dead all the time. I won't worry till they start talking back.

Oh. Right. That. We'll talk about that later, aie?

So I've gathered up all my transcripts from the schools I've already attended (except one...long story), and I'm getting ready to register for fall classes to catch up the prereqs I need. And then, after I'm all caught up, it's off to mortuary school.

Now I HAVE a reason to lose 50lbs. I'd look tacky in a funeral suit, otherwise.

The Captain

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.