Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

12:11 p.m.-2004-08-18

From my guestbook (I'm flattered you responded) about my geekiness yesterday, witnessed here.

"I thought only Pagans/ Wiccans knew that crap. Huh. Good on you! I don't find it geeky but I have 2 macs on one desk at home...I might be biased ; )"

Well. Actually, my luv. The Captain is a born again Pagan. As in, I believe I was pagan in the past, and gods willing, I will be in the future as well. In fact, I went so far as to be ordained, but at the moment, I'm not a practicing minister. My life is too busy for me to be a full time devotee.

Does that put you off? Mmm. Sorry. I was raised Catholic, in a strict Irish Catholic household, but you know...they made the mistake of letting me READ the Bible as a youngster, and I quickly noticed the 'loopholes'...including the fact that all the rules seemed to be addressed to a people whom I was only distantly related to at best, and that there was no denial of other dieties, just that that group were to follow their God.

I listened to others from an early age. Maybe I'm damned to hell, but frankly, at this point, I live by the motto of "God, deliver me from your followers". I don't see many Christians acting like Christians. I see a lot of folks using Christianity to spread hate, and fear, and evil, all in God's name.

I tried to change that as a young man, and was told that I wasn't reading the Bible right.

Finally, after getting thrown out of my parish for trying to commit suicide, I turned to the voices I'd heard all my life, deep in my heart. Eh...you say you hear voices, and they commit you. You say you hear God, and you're a holy man. Take yer pick, I'm not Catholic anymore. Not even remotely Christian.

Perhaps one day, I should go into the hows and whys of it. On how I believe that man and woman should be /really/ equal. That all men are created equally. That if you /do/ evil (and I don't mean sin...but evil. Sheer malicious, selfish, destructive harm.), you should be treated as such. That the sick should be healed. That the elderly should be revered. That the young should be cherished. That the earth is our mother and our home, and should be revered and cared for. That she should be healed and repaired to the best of our ability. That we should NOT live for ourselves, but for others. That hate has no place in our hearts, or our cultures. That honor and respect are not just buzzwords to make ourselves feel good.

I could go on, but I'm running long on lunch, and should get going.

Perhaps I'll mull on it more. Or perhaps not.

The Captain

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.