Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

7:02 p.m.-2004-10-01

This is the cabin-boy's fault. He wanted me to see a trailer for a scary movie called White Noise, about EVP.

I guess by now, my regular readers know I believe in an Afterlife. I believe there is a toasty place in Hades for certain people who will not be named here, and that the dead can, if they wish, speak to the living.

I'm one of those people who has had the uncanny ability to be in the location of the people who WANT to talk to us, from the other side, since anyone in my family can remember. My grandmother's old house was sitting on the foundation of an even older farm house that had burned down years before. More than once, I came out to tell her about the man in the brown suit who was talking to me in my room. There was no man in a brown suit in the room, of course, but it was rather unnerving, years later, to find an old photo album from when we lived in the house, and stuck into the pages was a photo, circa 1890s, of a young man in a suit, looking very much like my 'brown man' did.

There have been other incidences, of course, but I could fill my entries here with the encounters of the weird, and most of you wouldn't believe, or would write me off as a bigger whacko than ususal on Diaryland, so I won't go there.

Instead, I'll note that I went over to the website recommened by the White Noise website, and poked around. EVP both delights and scares the heck out of me, so it was with much trepidation that I started listening to some of the supposed ghost voices. What I was NOT prepared for, was Tiki LEAPING onto the computer and for the first time ever, taking unnerving interest in the recordings...but only when the supposed 'ghost voices' were speaking...she's sitting her enow, as I type, batting at the keyboard, the speakers, and the screen, trying to make me make the voices play again. It's been a very long time, since I had a cat that WANTED to listen to 'scary voices'...

I find it charming and fascinating. Why is she only interested in the 'ghost' voices. She's not interested when the people making the recordings are talking! She doesn't care at all, and busies herself chasing my dice collection. But the moment I play a 'ghost' voice, she hops to attention, and mews at the speakers curiously.

So. This is eerily cool.

Oh yeah. And I found someone who supposedly had a haunted coffee pot in the process. The world is just fulla stranger folks than you know!

The Captain

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.