Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

8:17 p.m.-2003-08-07

Weeeeell. It was a quiet day at work. Very quiet. The boss was having surgery today, and it left me feeling subdued. I love the old guy. I really do look up to him, even if he does rant and rave and accuse me of being a slacker sometimes. I'm not a slacker. I just get done quick and wind up standing around with nothing to do...anyhow. Here's to you GS. Hope we see you back at work soon!

The rest of the day centered around the discovery of the World's Coolest Pen. It has nice heft, shiny real metal shaft with a decorative enamelled barrel, bearing the logo of a particularly expenive name brand medication for seizures that shall go unnamed. It also has the most AMAZING soft squishy jelly 'comfort grip' I've ever seen. EXACTLY like the 'feel real' adult toys out there...but enough about that. The COOLEST thing was that when you click it to write...it glows neon blue. [insert fangirl squeal here]. I discovered it. My lead tech promptly coveted it and took it away. I recovered it a few minutes later, only to have it coverted by the aforementioned Fat Cow...who I haven't had the heart to be really mean to since her sister-in-law and best friend passed away on Tuesday. I rescued it from the Fat Cow, only to have the floor manager covet it. In the end, I claimed it back...but I bet it's gone when I get to work tomorrow. Thus ends the saga of the spiffykeen pen. This is where all those 'drug research dollars' are going, mind you. They probably spent $3 a pop on that pen, and bought them by the thousands to hand out to doctors...we got one by accident, I'm certain.

And if THAT wasn't enough...the other half decided we should see a couple of movies tonight. He wanted to see Spy Kids and Spy Kids 2, so we could go see Spy Kids 3-D in the theatre, while it was still in 3-D...mind you, my astigmatism means I don't see 3-D movies very well, but hey...I was as game as I ever am to go see a kid's movie...which means he has to beat me to make me go, and then I enjoy the hell out of myself anyway.

So off we tromp to the major grochery outlet, who used to brag that they didn't have a club card, but now they do. We hadn't rented anything from them in a while, and I couldn't find my card that was half filled...rent 10 movies, get one free. Anyhow, I figured, they had us on file, I'd just ask for a new card. Oh no. No dice. You see, they have a new system. They need a piece of ID (good, cool, that's fine) and your telephone number that is listed IN THE PHONE BOOK. ***HELLO*** I haven't had my number in the telephone book in 10 years...maybe longer. No problem, the Fat Cow behind the counter said, when I asked her if she meant the phone HAD to be listed in my name (as opposed to my other half's name), or did it have to be LISTED in the phone book. You see, if you don't have a listed telephone number, then you have to bring your last phone bill, which they then keep on record. Oh JOY. Oh RAPTURE. Like bloody HELL!

So we're not seeing a movie tonight. I don't know if we're gonna go see Spy Kids 3-D after all, or if we'll go see Freaky Friday (Man, I remember the original...freaky!). Bah.

Thinking what we need are a few good urban pirates...

The Captain

Before <--o--> After

the noises outside: still no CD player
Name Brand yellow corn chips and Name Brand 'medium' spicy queso sauce
Strike yer colors, ya bloomin cockroaches!

The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.