Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

8:27 p.m.-2003-09-18

Tomorrow is International Talk Like A Pirate Day. If you're needing to brush up on your Pirate Lingo, check out www.talklikeapirate.com! They have some quick lingo lessons that'll have ye talkin like a scurvy seadog in minutes!

That said, today was weird. W. I. E. R. D. Very weird.

The day was dull enough (it's been very slow of late), until the Bossman got back from a doctor's appointment. He's an older gentleman, and his hip's been hurting him a lot lately. He proceeded to dig out the x-rays he'd brought with him from the doctor's appointment, to look at them. He called me back to show me, because everyone else was occupied, and I concurred. His one hip looked excellent. His other hip looked horrible. I don't know how he's walking on it, or tolerating the pain! So he trotted it out for everyone else to see, in the much brighter light of the front of the pharmacy. Lemme put it this way...in the brighter light? You could tell his religon. I've seen FAR more of my boss than I EVER wanted to...dang. My eyes! Hysterical cackling ensued, as everyone ELSE in the pharmacy looked up and discovered the same thing: Our bossman, he's got some COJONES on him!

Then the phone rang. I answered through the hysterics. A vet hospital was looking for a certain drug. "Our supplier can't get it anymore, and none of the other vets have it either. It's not being made anymore!" Now, this is a pretty common drug, so I went to see if we had it. Sure enough, we did. "Can you mail it?" "Sure, no problem." "We need it tomorrow." Okay, that's a problem, because there was no WAY the USPS was going to get something to that side of Washington State in a single day. "You're going to have to have someone come get it, I'm sorry." So arrangements were made for them to come drive out to get the medication.

About then, I got called away. See, yesterday, I had to walk a package over to the local Fed-Ex pickup, to be overnighted to Eastern Washington. "Guaranteed there by 3pm tomorrow," chirped the dead ringer for a bonobo in sk8tr-dood duds... "Alright," I said, and took the confirmation number and receipt and sauntered back to work, glad for the quick trip out of the pharmacy. Well, it was the patient in Eastern Washington. She'd gotten the bill. Before she got the package. She was infuriated. How could we send her the bill, and not the package, which was promised overnight? She wanted her money back! Erm. Okay. She hadn't PAID us anything yet. But I promised to go dig out the receipt with the tracking number, and take DOWN the pharmacy software, and boot UP the Windows side of our computer, and get right on it. 15 minutes later, as I'm still trying to get the Windoze system to boot up (it's that slow), I mutter loudly, "If Monkeyboy didn't manage to get that to Fed-Ex yesterday, I'm gonna feed him his skateboard."

Little did I know, but The Price Nazi had crawled out of the dungeon to come get something from the front, and overheard my muttering. Hysterical laughter on his part ensued...and he went back into the dungeon muttering 'Monkeyboy'.

Just as I finally coaxed the world's oldest computer to boot Windows, I get another phone call. It's the lady in Eastern Washington. Fed-Ex just showed up with her package (2 hours late), and she's pleased as punch, and calls me a nice young man. So I take Windoze DOWN, and begin to reboot the pharmacy software.

"Hey, did you talk to the vet clinic about that medicine? They said to remind you about it," chimes the lead tech. "Yeah, sure, I know that. They're coming in for it." Dumb cow stare, "What do you mean, they're coming in for it?" "They're coming in for it. They need it tomorrow." "Well, I mailed it, like you said." I must've given her a dumb cow stare back, because I did NO SUCH THING. "I didn't say to mail it." "Yes you did. It's right here...oh, that's my handwriting." "I TOLD the front desk not to mail it!" "Well, it said mail on it!" chimed in der weasel. Hyperventilating occured. "Well, you didn't WRITE not to mail it on it," insisted the lead tech, who had apparently decided to pick up my half finished project, and finish it for me, without asking me what was going on. Oh sure, it was all my fault. Bleah. Dammit. I said some unkind things, but picked up the phone and told the vet office it was being mailed anyway, to just send it back when it did get there, and we'd have one ready for them to pick up in the morning.

It wasn't long after that, I met a man named Xkk. Okay, his name wasn't Xkk, but it was close. I have to use Xkk because I can't use his real name, patient privacy and all that. But suffice to say, Xkk was LIKE his real name, because it had no vowels in it, and two highly unusual letters. I glanced at his last name, and nearly had kittens 'Xkk X. Quantorrvrrn'...and then meekly went out to ask him how he said his name.

"Call me 'X'," he grinned, and then handed me his driver's license. Sure enough, that's his legal name. He then handed me his OLD license. You see, he'd just changed his name from 'Xuhvon Tornuu Quiltamarssson' (yes, his name really DID have 3 's' in a row...). I don't know what he was doing...if the 'original' name was one he was given at birth, or if he's been changing his name for fun, but that was probably the single wierdest thing I've encountered in ages. That, and his insistance that every single thing he signed be photocopied for his records.

Now...who ever said that pharmacy was boring?

The Captain

Before <--o--> After

the highway a few blocks over
creamy corn and baby squash soup
mmm...autumn

The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.