Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

9:37 a.m.-2004-05-01

What's your earliest memory of the Derby?

For me, it was being babysat at my dad's parents, and my grandfather channelled over to let me watch the derby. He remembered how exicted I'd been over seeing some races the fall before; maybe it was the Breeder's Cup (one of the early ones?), but I can't recall. He told me, if I wanted to watch a good race, watch the Derby, it was the best.

I remember them talking about the 'funny colored' horse, a 'blue roan' as they showed Winning Colors over and over. I kept telling him she was just a grey, like the old mule was, and he kept indulgently agreeing with me as I insisted that she didn't look ANYTHING like Bill (or Bud...I really can't remember now), the blue roan grade QHish gelding who lived next door.

Afterwards, he regaled me with stories of Kentucky Derbies of the past, the ones he remembered, in his thick mixed Irish/Texan accent. I was a bit of a favorite for him, so it was special to get the attention...at the time, I had about 20-30 living first cousins on that side (it's up around 50 now) ;) So 'just us' time with Grampa was special. The rest of the cousins who were over there that weekend didn't give a hoot about horses, and went to go see if they could find a turtle in the watering tank.

I can't decide now, if my memory was bad, or if he got horses mixed up himself as he recalled greats of the past, but he claimed to remember seeing Man O War alive (possible, he was born in 1915 and didn't move to Texas until 1939, with his new wife, a new job, and my oldest uncle on the way), but he took a few weekends after that, to drive me all the way to Louisiana to see the races, quite a trek for my homebody grandfather. But ever after I was hooked, 100%. I'd watch any horse race on TV, and would throw fits if they didn't let me watch! I saw some of the good, and several of the bad. I was pretty traumatized by seeing Go For Wand break down...I was a pretty soft hearted kid.

This year? I have NO idea who'll win. Last year my prediction was 'one of the geldings'...of course, it wasn't the gelding I favored, but hey ;) Sentimental favorite is Quinton's Gold Rush, mostly because of his dorky name and his flashy markings. But he's in a crappy position in the gate on a muddy track. No way, but I could dream.

I wish I could spend this KD with Grampa, because he's still with us, but only in body. I haven't seen him or talked to him since I moved to Seattle, but by the time I moved away, talking with him was sort of impossible. Between family problems and time getting away from me, by the time my family in general had stopped freaking out about me coming out of the closet, Alzheimers had set in. Grampa thinks it's about 1979 when he speaks at all...though I'm told he still asks about me now and again...but he thinks I'm still a 4 year old tot with a love of horses (which he always remarks on) and a bad haircut (he always called me Kojack due to my mother's (lack of) artistry with the scissors).

Alright, so all this Derby coverage is making me maudlin ;)

Jim

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.