Older - Newer - Fans - Guestbook - Host - Pimps - Profile

10:12 a.m.-2005-08-07

Wow. You know, I'm not actually dead. I've just been. Not in the mood to post.

Why? Well. Partly it's been stress. God forbid. Stress.

See, they sold my workplace back on April 1, 2005. Yeah. No foolin, they sold the place.

Since then, my life has been one hellish ball of unending stress. Because when they sold the place, the pharmacist who used to run roughshod over me was laid off. Okay, that was probably good, because we were talking serious personality conflict between the two of us...but it meant that there was one less pharmacist...and I had to train his replacement. Why a replacement for a layoff? Well...to put it shortly, the guy that replaced him is a partner in the new ownership. Nice guy though. Comes from Candana, eh? I like him, but he's been hard to train because he's well... because he's him.

On top of that, we have two new techs as well. I've had to train both of them too, because the tech that was buttbuddies with said laidoff pharmacist was SUPPOSED to train the first of the two new ones, and by the time she left (because her buddy wasn't there anymore), I found out that she'd done nothing of the sort, and I was expected to train the new one.

That's fine, except New Tech #1 has a personality like a sharkskin condom, and is not used to anything but 'would you like fries with that' style pharmacy tech work. Nevermind, she's had problem after problem since she hired on. And I don't mean, just trying to get out of work. I mean actual problems.

She was there 2 days when she got into a car wreck. Out two weeks with injuries. Got back. Caught some hideous bronchitis thing. Out a week. Got back. Discovered her boyfriend was cheating on her, had emotional meltdown, sent home. Got back. Miscarried one of two twins, was told she wouldn't lose the second. Got back. Miscarried second twin a week later. Got back. Went to the beach with family, got 2nd degree sunburn....you get the idea. Ugh.

Second tech came on, just as I'm getting Tech #1 into shape...sweet girl, total clubber, gets into carwreck on her 2nd day of work. This carwreck thing? It's a theme. Now every single person in the pharmacy excepting the pharmacy assistant that's been there the longest has gotten into a carwreck since April 1. Yeah. It's like that.

Anyhow, so now I'm training 2 techs at once, and having to do most of the typing and what not, while I simultaneously train a new pharmacist, take the billing phone calls, deal with any insurance issues, deal with computer issues, do the ordering of vials and lids and other office supplies, manage the pharmacy inventory, try and deal with new management policies, work on a new mailing list, do pre and post editing of all end of day reports for the pharmacy (I'm 2 months behind), write the new newsletter, try and update the website, come up with marketing fliers for the new, state of the art compounding facility that they're putting in. Oh yeah, and taking more work home with me than is probably legal on my wages.

Yeah. It's stressful on the ole captain.

Put on top of that I just had a bad gall bladder 'attack' (I'm still not 100% sure what that is, except that it's up there, pain wise, with my kidney stones), and the captain is one sorry sucker.

So that's why I haven't been around.

Oh, and the dog ate my homework.

Before <--o--> After



The Captain's Mood: The current mood of capt-jim@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
The Internet's Mood: The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com (yeah, she's a bitch)
The Captain Recommends Dogcessorize
The Captain also recommeds you click below, and help him and the cabin-boy get to Disneyland! Donate, and get a knicknack when we get back!


2006-08-13 - Movie Review: Monster House

2006-08-07 - Movie Review: The Descent

2006-06-09 - Movie Review: The Omen

2006-06-03 - She's here, She's here!

2006-05-22 - Blame the Cabin-Boy for playing 50 questions.